Now that recreational marijuana is officially legal in California, you must know about the regulations about the drug when it comes to driving. Although you may be able to legally use the drug if you are over 21, it is still unlawful to drive while high. Driving under the influence of cannabis may result in DUI charges.
While this behavior has always been illegal, it is an important reminder now that pot use is becoming more commonplace. Read below for all you need to know about drugged driving in California.
If law enforcement catches you smoking marijuana and driving, you could face penalties and jail time. According to a report by The Mercury News, the costs of consuming marijuana in your car start at $70 but can be as high as $10,000. If injuries or fatalities occur because you are driving while high, you may see harsher penalties and skyrocketing insurance rates. All of this is true even if you use marijuana for medicinal purposes.
Police know the signs
Due to the uptick in drugged driving, California is giving three million dollars to train police to spot the signs of a driver who is high. This is the highest funding for this purpose in the country. With so much money dedicated to helping law enforcement officials detect impairment by drugs, you should not attempt to get away with it.
There is no THC threshold
Even though driving while high is illegal, California has no legal threshold for marijuana like it does with alcohol. Other states such as Colorado have thresholds, however. Because of this challenge, DUI charges may be partially dependent on whether there are marijuana products or open containers in your car.
If you use marijuana recreationally or medicinally, make sure you do not get behind the wheel while you are high. Keep this information in mind the next time you experience the temptation to drive.